Break-ups

Break ups are a bitch. I found out an acquaintance of mine broke up with his girlfriend recently. I feel bad even though I never met the girlfriend in question. He was a little bummed out. On Wednesday nights I go to a writing group that he heads. We usually get around 5 or 6 people. Tonight was a huge turn out. There was 10 of us, maybe 11. A lot more males than females, but that’s to be expected. Not many women are interesting in “writing groups”.

But anyway, I digress. He’s currently writing a web series based on his blog (interesting idea). He’s one of these shaggy, chubby, new york kids who probably aced his SAT’s but didn’t get laid until after college or something. Real cultured guy though. Anyway, I read his latest blog entry which was about his break up and it saddened me even more. I feel sorry for the kid. I remember when I went through the same thing earlier this year. I met a girl, several years younger than me but on the same intellectual level none the less, and like a fool I fell in love. It was weird because the time I spent with her was the best time of my life, but also the worst time of my life. And now I realize something I didn’t before. People yearn for companionship because even though they know to expect bad times, they’d still take it because they know it’ll be accompanied by a lot of good times as well. We’re all masochists, really. We all say we want love and commitment, but we’re lying through our teeth. We enjoy fucking around and sleeping around. It fills the holes in our gray lives.

  1. Criticism can come from your peers in a writing group from editors sending you rejection letters and from those one-star Amazon reviewers who are out there looking for something to hate. This episode of Writing Excuses is brought to you by by Tracy and Curtis Hickman and illustrated by Howard Tayler.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

