Rejection

It’s difficult to handle professional rejection. You want to be mature about it and use criticisms as helpful tips for the future. But at the same time, it makes you feel so low and empty inside. I’ve been writing the same script for 5 years and only recently did it occur to me that while the idea might be interesting, the end result, is not. So I started writing something similar, because I wanted to keep the theme alive but change the story around a bit. I sent it to a woman who has been a professional writer for 40 years and she absolutely lampooned it. I mean she went off like no one I’ve ever seen in my life. “Puerile, flat, listless, nonsensical, annoying, stupid and banal to the point of coma-inducing” were among the things she said about it. I asked for the truth, and I got it. I appreciate that honesty, I really do, because lying to me and telling me its good when it’s obviously not is not helpful at all. I just wish I could see what is so banal and stupid about it. I wish I could create something of higher quality, and its too bad I can’t produce something better right now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

